About the TEAM

Who makes up the 2018 MADE Awards team and what are their roles?

Paula Jamieson – Paula is Assistant Principal of Te Akau ki Papamoa School and she facilitates a dedicated Maker Space. She is also an Apple Distinguished Educator. She is the committee chairperson, she maintains both our Facebook page and this website, co-ordinates the online entry process and deals with all email enquiries through our website email address.

Mike Shorter – Mike is a classroom teacher at Greerton Village School in Tauranga, he is responsible for sorting our presentation movie on the awards night as well as supporting our MC on the night. 2018 will be Mike’s last year on the committee.

Sue Beesley – Sue is a learning support teacher at Te Akau ki Papamoa and is passionate about all things e-learning related and has particular strengths in Literacy and the Arts. When Sue was a junior classroom teacher  in previous years her students won 1st prize in the Storytelling Year 1-3 category.

Trudi Fausett – Trudi is a Team Leader and Senior Teacher at Te Akau ki Papamoa School, she has a creative mind and loves seeing her learners exploring apps and photography across the curriculum. Her students entries have featured in the winners list several times in the last three years. Trudi is also an Apple Distinguished Educator.

Richard Williams – Richard was new to the committee in 2017, he is a year 4 teacher at Te Akau ki Papamoa School, he is passionate about teaching in a 1:1 environment and facilitating rich learning experiences. Richards students have been featured as finalists in several categories over the last two years.

Sjaan McDivitt- Sjaan is a year 2 and 3 classroom teacher at Golden Sands School. She is passionate about all forms of ICT and enjoys integrating technology into all areas of the curriculum. Sjaan loves seeing children using apps to collaborate, create and share. Saan is supporting Paula in her role this year.

Awhi Bristowe – Awhi is a teacher at Omanu Primary who last year (when she was a teacher at Te Akau ki Papamoa) had two of her talented students take out the Weta Workshop Supreme award (2016) with their stunning light box Matariki story telling entry.